home |
Trail & Ultra Running Forums Index » General Discussion » Beginner in for a mighty trail race experience ...eeek!

Beginner in for a mighty trail race experience ...eeek!

JoJo
JoJo
United Kingdom
Posted: Thu 26 Mar 2009 12:50 am GMT   topTop
Hello Everyone

I'm new to this forum! I have done 2 trail races, both last year aug and oct. One was 9 miles, I managed in 1hr54mins roughly. The 2nd was a steep uphill downhill mountain climb/run of only 6miles which took me 1hr 36 mins.

This weekend I have a trail run of 32km over a VERY hilly terrain. Here is the course profile: http://www.powersports.co.jp/osjtrail/09_shinshirotrail/32k.pdf

I am still a beginner, but my 2 friends, fellow runners, encouraged me to sign up for it...oh peer pressure hahaha. ANyway, I have 10 hours to finish. My speedy friend says he will take about 5 hours, so I will def take twice that long...hmmm

I was hoping for any tips on keeping a steady pace....how often to rest....how much to eat/drink...ANY tips at all would be most welcome!! I love downhill....struggle on uphill...looks like a walking uphill course anyway!!!

Thank you :)
backcountryrunner
Utah, United States
Posted: Sat 28 Mar 2009 01:39 am GMT   topTop
Hey, welcome to the forum. Good choice getting into trail running :-)

As for tips, rather than being repetitive (a bit short on time at the moment), there is some discussion already on the forum you can look at. Just make sure you eat/drink *enough*. "Often", and "early" is the rule. The longer the race, the easier it is to get behind on energy and fluids, and for most runners, the longer the run the harder it is to keep food and liquids down ... so again, getting "enough" is the key. I'm sure others on this forum can pass along some additional info.

Be sure to let us know how your 32km goes this weekend.
JoJo
JoJo
United Kingdom
Posted: Mon 30 Mar 2009 12:33 am GMT   topTop
Thank you for your reply backcountryrunner :)