home |
Trail & Ultra Running Forums Index » General Discussion » My hill and Jerry Rice

My hill and Jerry Rice

NGN
NGN
California, United States
Posted: Mon 08 Oct 2012 11:51 pm GMT   topTop
hey all,
Im a novice runner and have been motivated to run hills. I started running Cowles mnt trail a few weeks ago. I havent done any other running since I got out of the army in 1996. The hill is 1.5 mile up and climbs just under 1000'. The first time out I went about 1/8 mile before I had to walk a bit, the second time I ran 1/4 mile before walking, 3rd time I got about 1/2 mile, 4th time I got a little less. these were done going to the hill 2x per week. The night of the 4th attempt I watched a video on Jerry Rice's hill and how he ran it everyday.
I went back to the hill the next morning and ran all the way up, and have been running it everyday since. Today was 6th day in a row. I also do a park workout on the bars for upperbody strength 2x per week (mon, thurs) also walk up with 50 - 70 lbs after the run on Tues and Fridays.
Question, do you guys think Rice really ran his hill everyday of the off-season? or was that an exageration? my legs and calves are sore but not crazy sore. Can I continue everyday?
BTW my strength workouts have been amazing during this time. I would think that I would run out of steam at some point but something is def. clicking.
backcountryrunner
Utah, United States
Posted: Tue 09 Oct 2012 03:40 pm GMT   topTop