home |
Trail & Ultra Running Forums Index » General Discussion » Newbie 100 miler

Newbie 100 miler

gregrems
gregrems
Vermont, United States
Posted: Mon 16 Jun 2008 02:03 am GMT   topTop
Howdy....
I'm just looking for some opinions here as I am a newbie to ultra running. I'm a strong runner and am a pretty strong cyclist but have recently turned to trail running (our new dog loves it.) I did well at the North Face half marathon trail run in NY state 11/200 or so. Doing a half marathon road race the begining of September , and then 50k at the end of Sept. Do I have a chance of doing 100 miler the beginning of Nov or do I wait till next year? Any traing tips?

Thanks.
Greg
ajj
Arkansas, United States
Posted: Mon 16 Jun 2008 02:21 pm GMT   topTop
Straight answer to the first question: Not Much. Depends on a lot of things including your goal, which I respectfully suggest should be to finish, without regard to time or placing. The experience gained in working up through several 50 Ks and then 50 miles is vitally important to most of us. Hint: The 50 K is a good step up but you have no idea what you're getting into until you've done a 50 mile.
Disclaimer: I'm still working up to my first one. More experienced people will give you more specific advice but taking the time to learn what you'll be dealing with is basic. Good luck to ye.
MDultrarunner
MDultrarunner
Maryland, United States
Posted: Mon 16 Jun 2008 11:04 pm GMT   topTop