home |
Trail & Ultra Running Forums Index » Gear and Products » Garmin Forerunner 405 review

Garmin Forerunner 405 review

adkeditor
New York, United States
Posted: Sun 26 Dec 2010 02:00 pm GMT   topTop
I've been using a Garmin Forerunner 405 for about 18 months for trail running and other activities. It's not perfect, but I've been satisfied overall. I recently posted a review on the website of the Adirondack Explorer newsmagazine. Click the link below to read it. I'd like to know if others share my experiences/opinions.

http://adirondackexplorer.org/out-takes/2010/12/22/gear-review-garmin-forerunner-405/
backcountryrunner
Utah, United States
Posted: Mon 27 Dec 2010 09:46 pm GMT   topTop
A year ago I bought the Garmin 310XT. It's similar to the 405 - worn like a watch on the wrist but square-ish shaped. I LOVE it -- so much so that I ended up getting another one so my wife and I could have our own. I found elevation stats to be accurate enough for my purposes. Knowing my current pace, distance covered, approximate elevation gain, etc, at a glance while I'm running is very valuable in learning how to pace myself on trails or in a race. Equally good is having the ability to upload the route to Garmin.com and overlay the route on top of a topgraphic map and analyze stats and see exactly where my route goes. I've always loved topo maps so a GPS tool like this is a dream.