home |
Trail & Ultra Running Forums Index » Gear and Products » New to Trail Running - shoe choice

New to Trail Running - shoe choice

Olidonog
Czech Republic
Posted: Mon 09 Sep 2013 01:50 pm GMT   topTop
HI All,

I am new to Trail Running though have run a couple of marathons in the past couple of years. I run in Asics Gel 3200, or did anyhow. They are now knackered. However I have take on the challenge of the Speights Coast to Coast in NZ which includes a 33km trail run, mainly rocks, dry river beds and a fair few river crossing as well. Certainly no road and not a lot of mud. Apparently smaller lugs will help enormously for the grip.

The reason I am actually posting here is I am struggling to get advice. Innov8 are main sponsors of the event and therefore there branding is everywhere, but I am just not sure that I am ready to move away from a heel-strike technique in order to ‘fit into’ their shoes.

I purchased a pair of Mizuno Wave Ascents and just found my foot collapsing inwards in them. So then went for the Salomon XT S-Lab 5 which was great for support, and almost perfect BUT I do find the slim toebox is giving me blister issues so I need to review my thoughts. I like everything about them except damn toebox.

Basically I need a shoe that has support for over-pronation, a rock-plate is a must (so is toecap), and drains really well. I don’t care about colour, design, brand etc and in all honesty price isn’t an issue either. I don’t get to try many shoes out as I live in the Czech Republic and its not easy here to get away from the basic models so whichever make I go for I will need to get to a shop, try a similar model for size, order online (from UK or DE) and cross my fingers. A model that also has a Gore-Tex or wet-weather version would be good as the majority of my training closer to the event will be in the snow.